Large Medium small Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

Revised Proposals - news release

Sixth Review index | Initial Proposals | Revised Proposals | Cessation | Resources | Electorate data | Consultation

We announced the publication of our Revised Proposals on 13 September 2012 by issuing the following News Release. The News Release was accompanied by a series of Talking Points, and council area summaries for each of Scotland's 32 council areas. You can download the News Release and supporting documents as a PDF file.

Boundary Commission for Scotland consults on revised constituencies

The Boundary Commission for Scotland today publishes its Revised Proposals for United Kingdom Parliament constituencies in Scotland as part of its Sixth Review. This marks the start of an 8 week public consultation process, lasting from Thursday 13 September 2012 until Wednesday 7 November 2012.

The Commission has prepared these Revised Proposals after considering all of the responses to the Initial Proposals which were published in October 2011.

Parliament has decided to reduce the number of UK Parliament constituencies from 650 to 600. In Scotland this means that there will be 52 constituencies instead of 59. Of these, 2 constituencies are defined in the legislation: Na h-Eileanan an Iar (the Western Isles) and Orkney and Shetland. The remaining 50 constituencies must each have between 72,810 and 80,473 electors. This is the first review when the legislation has specified exact limits on the number of electors in each constituency. The Commission has also had to ensure that no constituency exceeds the maximum permitted area of 13,000 square kilometres. The requirements set by Parliament limit the number of possible constituency designs.

Among the changes from the Initial Proposals are:

  • reconfiguration of constituencies around Dundee, with Angus West and East Perthshire constituency covering parts of Angus, Dundee City and Perth and Kinross council areas, and Dundee West constituency wholly contained in Dundee City council area;
  • changes to the division of eastern Fife between Fife East constituency (renamed from Cupar and St Andrews constituency) and Kirkcaldy and Glenrothes constituency;
  • creation of Moray and Nairn constituency in place of Moray and Strathspey constituency with associated changes to constituencies elsewhere in Highland council area.

Of the 50 mainland constituencies in the Revised Proposals, 24 constituencies are unchanged from the Initial Proposals, 8 constituencies have only their name changed, 13 constituencies have only their boundaries changed and 5 constituencies have both their name and boundaries changed.

The Boundary Commission for Scotland has today also made available on its website papers and minutes from its meetings when it developed these Revised Proposals.

After considering the responses to this consultation on the Revised Proposals, the Commission will develop its Final Recommendations and submit its report to the Secretary of State.

Dr Hugh Buchanan, Secretary to the Commission, said:

"After careful consideration of all of the comments received during the consultation on the Initial Proposals, the Commission has designed this revised set of constituencies. Where the legislation has allowed it, we have tried to respond to the views expressed in the consultation. In some areas, we have been unable to make changes in response to opposition to the Initial Proposals because of the constraints on constituency design within the legislation."

"This is the final opportunity we have to obtain people's views on our proposals so we can further improve them where the legislation allows us to do so."

Further information can be found on the Commission's website:

Sixth Review index | Initial Proposals | Revised Proposals | Cessation | Resources | Electorate data | Consultation

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001