Large Medium small Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

European Parliament constituencies 1999

All maps index | | 1979-84 | 1984-99 | 1999 | | Data files

These are the 8 European Parliament constituencies for Scotland recommended in our Second Supplementary Report on the European Parliamentary Constituencies in 1996. They were intended for use in elections in 1999, but before those elections took place, the electoral system in the UK for the European Parliament was changed by the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1999. Since 1999, Scotland has formed a single electoral region for European Parliament elections returning a number of Members of the European Parliament using a regional list system.

These European Parliament constituencies were also used as Scottish Parliament regions 1999-2011.

All Scotland map
File icon (5.6 MB) thumbnail image

The table below gives more detailed maps of each individual European Parliament constituency. For information on downloading and using the PDF files from this page, see the Technical section of our Frequently Asked Questions.

Individual constituency maps
Central Scotland File icon (7.5 MB)
Glasgow File icon (7.4 MB)
Highlands and Islands File icon (5.6 MB)
Lothians File icon (7.5 MB)
Mid Scotland and Fife File icon (7.5 MB)
North East Scotland File icon (7.5 MB)
South of Scotland File icon (7.5 MB)
West of Scotland File icon (7.5 MB)

All maps index | | 1979-84 | 1984-99 | 1999 | | Data files

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001